Books to Read on Your Holiday Travels

Right about now, I’m flying across the country, engrossed in a new book. I won’t notice where we are until the plane lands or I get to the last sentence, whichever comes first. Likely the latter.

I don’t hear anything or anyone when I read. You can be talking right at me, but all I hear are the words on the page. G describes it as if I’m in a coma, which is fairly spot-on.

Don’t get me wrong, sometimes the best way to fly long distance is with a glass of in-flight Kendall Jackson, two Dramamine, and a neck pillow. But for people who love to read, but also want to pay the bills and have a social life, traveling can be a sweet opportunity to finally have all the hours you need to finish one more book.

And if you’re thinking of purchasing or gifting a kindle, I adore mine and I’d be happy to tell you all the reasons why. Email me.

Here are my suggestions for your holiday travels:

Room by Emma Donoghue

Creeptastic. Fictional novel narrated entirely by 5-year-old, Jack. For him, Room is his entire world, made up of his mother and “Old Nick” who sometimes visits his mother in the night. One day, his mother tells him the truth – that there is a world outside of Room, and she needs his help to escape to it. This book just came out in 2010. No way you can read it and not think about Jaycee Duggard.

I’m with Fatty by Edward Ugel

A hilariously sarcastic memoir written by a middle-aged father who embarks on a mission to lose “50 pounds in 50 miserable weeks.” His honesty and humility are laid bare in truthful accounts of everything from wearing a sleep apnea machine to bed to going on a green juice cleanse, complete with enema. For me, it was an insightful look into someone with true food addiction – understanding how his mind and cravings work against the life he so wants to be leading with his family. In addition, it is LOL funny.

The Hunger Games by Suzanne Collins

Good luck not immediately devouring the whole trilogy, but you can start with the first one. Technically a YA series, but this one hooked me with its futuristic, postapocolyptic setting. A young teenage girl is forced into a Battle Royale (fight to the death) with other teenagers from the Districts for the amusement of a bored Capital. Lots of underlying commentary on reality television and political power, but the character development is off the charts. The heroine is a scheming survivor to the core, but you’re rooting her on until the end.

Other notables:

  • Water for Elephants by Sara Gruen (Movie is coming out soon, get on it.)
  • The Help by Kathryn Stockett (People are probably already telling you to read this book. Believe them.)
  • Sarah’s Key by Tatiana de Rosnay (Historical fiction based on Jews in France during Nazi Germany.)
  • Bitter is the New Black by Jen Lancaster (Such a funny, relaxing beach-type read. I love Jen for a plane trip.)

Any more suggestions? I’m always on the lookout. Leave them in the comments!

3 responses to “Books to Read on Your Holiday Travels

  1. Well, now that I’ve got the Kindle, I need a plane ride…Perhaps to San Fran to watch you try on wedding dresses????

  2. i’ve read a lot of those books too! you should also try “Little Bee” by Chris Cleave and “Loving Frank” by Nancy Horan…. they both are so good. i read them on the plane ride to my honeymoon this past September and couldn’t put them down.

  3. Great suggestions – I cant wait to read them!

    Your blog is so cute! I love it and can’t wait to read more… I just started my blog about two months ago – it is so addicting 🙂 Check it out if you get a chance: http://oatsandspice.wordpress.com

Leave a comment