The BEST Stir Fry Marinade

Today, I finally took a trip through San Fran’s Chinatown to check out all the grocery stores lining Stockton. I know my NYC friends are going to hate this, but since the first time I saw it, I really think San Fran puts New York’s Chinatown to shame. On my mini-culinary trip, I noticed crispy-fried shellfish shells, all kinds of packaged noodles, spicy sesame oil, and a lot of fresh produce for under 75ยข/lb.

Stir-Fry_Vegetables.ashxSurrounded by all the goodies, I was reminded of my favorite stir-fry sauce/marinade recipe. Not only is it supertasty, it’s extremely versatile and you can use it with whatever protein you happen to have on hand. G and I make stir fry a lot at the end of the week when we want to use up whatever produce is still left over before it goes bad.

Some suggested ways to use this recipe:

1. As a marinade for white fish. Orange roughy, tilapia, or halibut would all work. Serve over wilted spinach.

2. As a marinade for your stir fry protein. I’ve used both chicken and tofu and they are equally delicious. If you like tofu, that is, and I do. A lot.

3. As a sauce to flavor your veggie stir fry. If you’re skipping the protein, throw this in over your veggies right before you’re ready to take them off the flame and just heat through. This makes sure the sauce doesn’t just burn off during cooking.

The BEST Stir Fry Marinade

Ingredients:
1/3 cup dry cooking sherry
3 tbls. soy sauce
2 teas. sesame oil (use chili sesame oil for kick)
1/4 cup finely chopped scallions
1 teas. freshly grated ginger (use fresh not ground)
1 garlic clove, diced

Instructions:
Mix all ingredients together and use as either a marinade or sauce to flavor the stir fry.

I know people tend to just buy soy sauce and throw that in and be done with it. For just a little extra effort and 5 cheap ingredients, you can have something that tastes more authentic right in your own home on Friday night. Once you buy the sherry and sesame oil the first time, you’re basically set and just need to pick up the scallions and ginger that night. Because you already stocked fresh garlic. Right?

22 responses to “The BEST Stir Fry Marinade

  1. omg that has me craving Chinese food, which is quite a feat after my trip to China this past summer and I pretty much swore it off!

  2. yummy that does sound good. i have never had cooking sherry lying around in the house, but i grew up with it.

  3. Did you go to the fortune cookie factory? That’s my favorite place in SF chinatown.

  4. Yum. Do you cook the marinade for the stir fry first before you add the veggies? Or do you add it all together?

  5. Sorry I just realized you already answered that!! Thanks for the recipe…

  6. I tried it, Loved the marinade. It really is the best stir fry marinade. I even substituted Sake for sherry and it was still great!
    Thanks!

  7. This marinade is GREAT! I used a liiiittle more garlic and ginger (because we’re garlic/ginger-heads) and we used it in the veggies and marinaded our salmon steaks in it… DELISH!! This one is DEFINITELY going into the recipe book! Thanks for sharing ๐Ÿ™‚

  8. Pingback: How to Turn 1 Fat Turkey Into 7 Scrumptious Suppers | Quid Corner

  9. Great post! We will be linking to this particularly great content on our
    website. Keep up the good writing.

  10. Everything is very open with a really clear explanation of the challenges.
    It was really informative. Your site is very helpful.
    Thank you for sharing!

  11. Wow, that’s what I was seeking for, what a data! existing here at this website, thanks admin of this web site.

  12. Your method of telling the whole thing in this paragraph
    is truly pleasant, all be able to simply know it, Thanks
    a lot.

  13. Hello friends, how is everything, and what you would like to say regarding this article, in my view its truly amazing in favor of me.

  14. Hi there, after reading this remarkable paragraph i
    am as well delighted to share my experience here with
    friends.

  15. Hi there, I enjoy reading through your article post. I wanted to
    write a little comment to support you.

  16. whoah this blog is magnificent i like studying your posts.

    Stay up the good work! You recognize, lots of individuals are searching around for this information, you can
    help them greatly.

  17. Ahaa, its good discussion about this article at this place at this weblog,
    I have read all that, so now me also commenting at this place.

  18. Pingback: QuickQuid - How to Turn 1 Fat Turkey Into 7 Scrumptious Suppers

Leave a Reply

