Tiger Bok Choy

I just finished reading The Kind Diet, and ever since I’ve been craving bok choy. Like, can not stop thinking about eating bok choy.

Which is so weird because I’ve never even made bok choy or eaten it outside of the random pieces thrown into my Chinese take-out. Also, it’s not like Alicia Silverstone is especially extolling the virtues of bok choy. But her book is pretty heavy on the Asian influences, which must be where this all started.

This past weekend marked the annual San Francisco Chinese New Year parade, apparently the biggest celebration outside of China. Unfortunately, it conflicted with an even bigger event – watching Syracuse beat Nova to take on the number one ranking for the first time since 1990. But at least I made boy choy, so I like to think I celebrated in my own way.

This is simple food. A fresh vegetable, chopped garlic, olive oil, finished with salt and pepper. I wanted to taste the basic flavor of a just-cooked tender head of bok choy. Somehow, it was mind blowing.

No recipe needed for this, friends. Just go at it Mark Bittman-style. Sautee garlic in olive oil, throw in the bok choy, cracked pepper and salt to taste. Cook until just tender. Welcome to the Year of the Tiger.

12 responses to “Tiger Bok Choy

  1. Yum!! I just had an amazing bok choy dis at my friends, it was from a recent cooking light magazine recipe and it it was amazing!!

  2. Yum– sometimes the simplest dishes are the best, especially when it comes to vegetables!

  3. I love bok choy! Oddly enough, I hardly ever buy it. I’ll have to pick some up next time I’m at the store now.

  4. love bok choy! it’s such a nice, hearty green

  5. the Kind diet book sort of intimidated me, but your easy peasy recipe looks good! I’ve never had Bok Choy!

  6. Thanks for the tip about freezing the soup! Unfortunately, I had already frozen a couple containers before I read your comment. Next time I’ll definitely use the plastic bag idea.

  7. Mmmm, I love bok choy!! Love the Mark Bittman reference- he’s fantastic. And sometimes the simpler the better- especially with vegetables. Let their flavors shine!

  8. Yum, simple and great, I love it!

  9. I love bok choy. I like making it with an orange juice and hoisin sauce…amazing flavors!

  10. I just had bok choy the other night! Good to know the Kind Diet is Asian influenced.

Leave a Reply

