Fancy Mac + Cheese

Thank you all for your wonderful comments on my last post! I really liked putting together the Eat This, Not That and am brainstorming some other good “lists” for you folks.

I actually had a triumphant, brilliant, foodie end to my month of veganism, but I can’t tell you about it until I have the pictures, which are hopefully on their way. Strangely, since that night I’ve continued eating vegan anyway, so I guess I haven’t made up my mind yet.

Tonight’s “recipe” is a simple weeknight meal of things you probably eat separately, but maybe haven’t thought to try in combination before. It’s really G’s recipe since he’s the one who finalized and ate it, but I think I can take the credit since I came up with the original concept.

I was making roasted brussel sprouts to go with my carrot fries, and G was working on some packaged mac and cheese. Suddenly an epiphany hit me – the crispy, salty brussels would combine beautifully with the creamy cheese sauce. Kind of like when you put peas in your M+C but waaaay less mushy and waaaay more noticeable.

G admittedly took it to the next level when he reasoned salty, cured pork would give the M+C the texture and depth it needed to not just taste like cheesy broccoli. I made him use Annie’s because just because you’re making mac and cheese for dinner, doesn’t mean you won’t be hassled by your vegan roommate.

Fancy Mac + Cheese

Ingredients:
1 box Annie’s “True Blue” macaroni and cheese
Milk (for M+C)
3-5 Brussel sprouts (cut in half)
3 long pieces thinly sliced prosciutto or serrano ham (torn into bite-sized pieces)
Kosher salt
Cracked black pepper

Instructions:
Line a baking sheet with tin foil. Toss the cut brussel sprouts in a little olive oil, kosher salt, and pepper (more salt than pepper). Roast in a 400 degree oven for about 20-30 minutes until they are crispy and burnt on their outer layer. Cut your halves into fourths if desired so they’re more bite-sized. You can cook them whole and cut them after, but be advised it takes more like 40 minutes that way.

Meanwhile, prepare mac and cheese according to the package instructions. To serve, mix all the elements together and top with some fresh cracked pepper.

Or, if you’re vegan, sauté up a portabello mushroom marinated in Gena’s sauce, top with sauteed spinach, and serve alongside said brussels and carrot fries.

Happy groundhog’s day, friends! At least brussels are a winter vegetable.

4 responses to “Fancy Mac + Cheese

  1. I still need to try carrot fries!!

  2. That’s funny– I’ve been eating vegan still too. I keep wondering what my first non-vegan food will be! Probably some frozen yogurt at the airport today 🙂

  3. Carrot fries–that is a great idea…mmmmust make those soon

  4. Carrot fries–wow, I’m intrigued. I love carrots in all forms, so why not in fries? Brussell sprouts also get a big thumbs up from me, the poor underappreciated things.

Leave a Reply

