Sniffle Soup on a Cold Winter’s Night

The operative word here being “cold” since I think it actually hit 65 degrees in San Francisco the day we made this soup. But both G and I are feeling the sniffles after partying like rockstars on New Years traveling across the country for the holidays, so we made like our friends on the East Coast and cooked something appropriate for the “wintery” weather.

Note, this is the first time lentils have appeared on this blog.

G brought this up and we’re both super incredulous I made it this far without sharing some lentils with all of you. I’m actually kind of embarrassed about it, but the truth is, most of the lentils I cook come from other people’s recipes (as you’ll see on the lentil links page). Of course, if you own Eat, Drink, & Be Vegan, you know this recipe is no exception.

ED&BV is one of my newest cookbook additions and I’ve already made a couple delicious recipes from it, but this soup is my favorite so far (for obvious reasons). It necessitated me going out and buying curry powder – something I’ve successfully avoided in the approximately four years I’ve been cooking, which is the second embarrassing declaration of this post. Do you know how many good recipes call for curry powder??? And it’s not like it’s some expensive thing either. I can’t explain it, don’t ask.

Back to Dreena Burton’s Mellow Sniffle Soup. It’s flavorful, soothing, and delightfully chunky so you can scoop it up with bread and make a full dinner out of it. Best of all, it took me 30 minutes start to finish including prep and only uses one pot. Take that Rachel Ray.

Sorry for the lack of actual recipes as I lean on other people’s expertise during this vegan eating experiment. At least you’re getting a sense of all the tasty options for vegans. Try this one, omnivores, you’ll like it.

10 responses to “Sniffle Soup on a Cold Winter’s Night

  1. aww feel better BUT one of my faves!!

  2. I love that cookbook! There are a couple of Mexican-y dishes in it that are SO good!

    That soup looks like the perfect cure for the sniffles 🙂 Hope you get better soon!

  3. That soup is a staple in our house!!!

    I don’t think I’ve ever had peas on my blog, so don’t feel too bad. 🙂

  4. Here are other lentil soups you might want to try:

    http://www.vegrecipes4u.com/dals-and-soups.html

  5. Lynn at The Actors Diet

    lentils are da bomb. i love that you don’t have to soak them.

  6. Yum…that looks tasty!

  7. I will have to try that one…getting tired of the one from Barefoot Contessa …that is sooo good, but a pain in the but with all the chopping…I took a picture of my last batch…if I could figure out how to put in on your blog, I would…

  8. Pingback: Vegan Quesadilla with Mexican Mash « Let Them Eat Lentils

Leave a Reply

