Easy Peasy Butternut Squash Soup

Confession, I have not made this soup.

My mom’s friend made this for a party and everyone was so impressed, she asked for the recipe. I was impressed at how easy this soup is and thought it would make a great blog post.

So why don’t I just make it myself before posting?

Second confession, I do not like peanut butter. I know there are a lot of obsessed bloggers out there, but I haven’t tried other nut butters either, because I don’t think I’ll like them. I guess I’m lucky in that respect, since they’re expensive and heavy in calories, and I have enough obsessions like that.

Easy Peasy Butternut Squash Soup

Ingredients:
I bag of Butternut squash already cut up and ready to go (Trader Joe’s, Safeway or Whole Foods should all have this in their refrigerated produce section)
1 onion, chopped up
Pinch of Cayenne Pepper
Cracked Salt & Pepper
Chicken broth (about 1 quart)
1 tbs Peanut Butter

Instructions:
Put the squash cubes, chopped onion, spices and chicken broth into a large soup pot and bring to a boil. Boil until squash and onion are soft (approximately 20 minutes). Just before you remove the mixture, stir in the peanut butter.

Put all in a food processor or blender and blend until just smooth (not too much). Or use a nifty hand blender.

Final confession, these are all stock photos. But you probably guessed that.

3 responses to “Easy Peasy Butternut Squash Soup

  1. Interesting i have never had butternut squash soup with peanut butter, But I love making butternut squash soup is it one of my favorite!

  2. I have made Butternut Squash soup but it always seems to be missing something. Maybe its the peanut butter? Thanks for the suggestion!!

  3. Ooh, I’ve never thought about adding pb to butternut squash soup.

    Dang– I WISH I didn’t like nut butters! That would save me hundreds of calories and dollars 🙂

Leave a Reply

