News, Fun, and more Chicks

Lots of fun happened this weekend. First, the news. We bought a piece of furniture!!! We’re citizens.

Of course, the picture is in the store, not our apt, because it hasn’t been delivered and probably won’t be for the near future since they insist on scheduling deliveries Comcast-style during the time everyone who can afford this couch is at work. We took home the pillows on the bus and have leaned them against our air mattress so we can pretend it’s our new couch.

I love this couch like I imagine I may one day love my first born child. Because all parents love their first born most.

Second, we went to see Point Break live, which is exactly what it sounds like. From the Web site:

IT’S A HIGH ACTION, OVER-THE-TOP, NO HOLDS BARRED PERFORMANCE THAT HAS ‘BANK ROBBERS’ THROWING AUDIENCE MEMBERS ONTO THE FLOOR AND SURFERS SPITTING BLOOD AND THROWING WATER ON PEOPLE.

Hence the ponchos:

I just realized this random couple is totally making out in my picture. And again from the site:

Best of all, the starring role of Keanu will be selected at random from the audience each night, with the lucky winner reading their entire script off of cue-cards. This method manages to capture the rawness of a Keanu Reeves performance even from those who generally think themselves incapable of acting.

For real. It was hysterical. And so weirdo West Coast. Funny enough, we brought our new Point Break coozies with us to Aces the next day and our Giants friend is going next week. Yo Utah, get me two!

Unfortunately, I can’t even really talk about the rest of the weekend because it’s so heartbreaking. Suffice to say, Dallas losing to the Giants couldn’t even lift my spirits.

Giants Bar aka Sunday Morning Hangout

People did keep buying me drinks because they felt so bad every time they looked at my jersey, but I’m going to have to say that’s not a good thing. I just saw my jersey on the floor and wanted to buy it a drink myself.

I might have to change the name of the blog to Let Them Eat Chickpeas after this weekend. I still have like half a bag left. This is salad with the last of the hummus as dressing and Mama Pea‘s pumpkin spiced chickpeas. Positive – they made the house smell like Betty Crocker lives here. Negative – I really didn’t like them. As in, I threw them out. Could have been my own fault since I cooked the chickpeas myself and had no idea how long they should boil for, or could just be that I don’t like beans and forgot that chickpeas are actually garbanzo BEANS. Squish central.

Anyone else try this recipe? I’m wondering if I just overcooked them on the stove. According to twitterGena is mad scientist-ing a completely RAW falafel recipe so I’m hoping that will make good use of the rest of my chickies.

I did make some awesome-looking tahini dressing a la Ms. Pea for my lunchtime salads this week. AND our comforter finally arrived on what is without question the coldest day since we moved to California. Rumor has it there was SNOW in San Francisco today. S-N-O-W. What the hell, Al Gore?

Really exciting giveaway from the Pure2Raw twins. I hope I win, I hope I win. Check it out here: http://bit.ly/5J28Yd

9 responses to “News, Fun, and more Chicks

  1. love the new couch! Point break live looks crazy!! I love that you are having a blast living in San Fran!!

  2. That new couch looks gorgeous!!

  3. You bought a couch without consulting me? I may have to disown my first born, that I love so much!

  4. Very impressed, What is the size?

  5. Lynn at The Actors Diet

    congrats on the new couch! i love new furniture.

Leave a Reply

