Tilapia Piccata and Giada Veggies

IMG_1601

Yum. The finished product picture turned out so well, I thought I’d start with that. Inspired by the Fitnessista, and cable, I started this meal by checking out Giada’s Spicy Parmesan Green Beans and Kale.

As soon as you go to Giada’s homepage on the food network site, a looping video starts playing and as far as I can tell, the whole point of the video is to emphasize how cute and adorable Giada is, and how much you will never look like her no matter how many vegetables you eat or what kind of plastic surgery you save up for. Maybe I’m projecting on that last part, but seriously, the girl gets to me.

giada_de_laurentiis_tc1-07_5-7676673Despite her physical handicap, I’ve never had an issue with a Giada recipe. They’re typically light, quick, and easy to adapt. For this recipe, I subbed spinach for kale, used half veggie broth/half wine, added zucchini and oregano, and skipped the lemon/parmesan (mostly because I forgot). It was supertasty but I’m sure it would be fine made straight-up a la Fitnessista. I especially liked the addition of the mushrooms, which I usually don’t think of when I’m sautéing up green veggies on the side.

IMG_1596

The fish entree, though, was all me. This is a piccata recipe I use often with either fish or chicken. For the wine, I use twobuckchuck Sav Blanc or whatever white I have left over. (Hah, left over). I pretty much always use frozen fish fillets and defrost them.

Tilapia Piccata

Ingredients:
2 Tilapia fillets
Garlic clove (diced)
1/4 onion (chopped)
Olive oil
Veggie or Chicken Broth
White wine
Capers (drained)
Half a large lemon juice
Cracked Sea Salt
Cracked Pepper
Red Pepper flakes
Dried Oregano
Dried Basil

Instructions:
Heat the olive oil on medium-low heat. Add your garlic and heat until slightly darker (not browned). Add onions and cook until translucent. If you need to slow the cooking and keep the garlic from burning, add broth in small increments.

Once onions are cooked, add half broth, half white wine until there is about an inch of liquid covering the bottom of the pan. The more liquid you add, the more sauce you’ll have. However, you don’t want the fillets to be fully covered.

Add tilapia fillets and generously sprinkle seasonings on them including 1/4 of the lemon juice. If you want it to be super lemony, you can always add slices of the lemon to the pan at this time. Add the capers. Cook until the tilapia is flaky and done, turning over halfway through cooking if necessary. To serve, place fish on a plate alongside the veggies, then spoon capers and sauce over the fillet. Squeeze the rest of the lemon juice over the fish at the last moment.

IMG_1598

Most of the seasonings are the same as Giada’s, so these two go very well together. I’ve also just steamed up a bed of spinach and placed the tilapia over the spinach, letting the sauce soak into the spinach to flavor it.

Heading to Pesce with friends tonight so we’ll see if they can match my Italian fish skills.

4 responses to “Tilapia Piccata and Giada Veggies

  1. Hi there – thanks for visiting my blog…I have tons of recommendations for San Fran. I actually live in LA but I go up north often. These are a few of my favorites – I love Millennium (spelling?) near Union Square, Greens (Marina area), Slanted Door (Ferry Building), and North Beach Restaurant (awesome Italian in North Beach). You really can’t go wrong because everything is so fresh and delicious!

  2. You know, I’m not very accustomed to eating or cooking fish, and I’ve been nervous to try it in case I screw it up! But perhaps I will try and use your recipe! Thanks for posting. 🙂

  3. looks delish!! Missed yo last night!

  4. Pingback: January Vegan aka The China Study « Let Them Eat Lentils

Leave a Reply

