Raw Zucchini Salad (on the fly)

IMG_1588

Since we haven’t had a chance to actually grocery shop yet, I pulled together lunch with the few things left in our fridge:

Half a tomato
Small handful leftover mixed greens with carrots
Raw small zucchini (chopped)
Marinated olives
A few pieces fresh basil

All combined together with red wine vinegar, EVOO, dried oregano, and some cracked sea salt. It was DELISH and the first time I’ve used raw zucchini in a salad but it will definitely not be the last. Rachel Ray Tip: To cut basil, stack the leaves on top of each other, roll them up, then cut on a diagonal. This gives you attractive little ribbons for your salad, pasta, etc. The highlight of the meal, though, was this:

IMG_1592A bday gift from my friend, L. Yes, the same L. from Pantless Paella, though not the same L. from my blogroll. I finally unearthed it from all the boxes, cleaned it out and filled it with the rest of my olive oil. I never knew I needed one of these but now I’m trying to figure out how I lasted so long without one, which is usually the way these things go. It is so much easier to pour the perfect amount of olive oil onto your salad. And plus it’s just so much more attractive.

Of course, even though we don’t have any food, we still have a lot of this:

IMG_1593

and this ….

IMG_1594

But that’s ok right, as long as I’m continuing to munch on this:

IMG_1589

7 responses to “Raw Zucchini Salad (on the fly)

  1. your salad look delish! And olive oil container is adorable!

  2. I’m pretty sure salads cancel booze out. It’s in the Bible.

  3. Man! Now I need to get you a great gift to one-up the other “L,” haha! Look for a package in the mail…

  4. Pingback: Holiday Gift Guide « Let Them Eat Lentils

Leave a Reply

