The Plant Cafe Blogger Dinner

Last night I had the good fortune to check out The Plant Cafe, a delicious organic, vegetarian/vegan restaurant actually located RIGHT BY my old sublet in the marina 😦 Annoying to discover that delicious juices, treats, and lunches were right around the corner the whole time. Or maybe, financially speaking, it was better not to know.

IMG_8483640x427_thumb

The impetus of this whole meet-up was Kath (second from right) in town for the foodbuzz conference. This is her picture. See Kath has been blogging long enough that she has one of those big lens impressive cameras and no offense, but I always figured that superior camera explains why she looks so vivacious and glowing all the time on her blog. Nope. Exactly the same in person and I would like very much to learn her beauty regimen.

So besides having a lot of fun, getting to know more locals, and discussing composting (really), there was some delicious food. Upon recommendation, I went for Plant’s signature garden burger, which ranges in Yelp reviews from “the best garden burger of my life” to “overpriced and without question NOT the best garden burger of my life despite all these ratings on Yelp.” Ordered mine on sprouted wheat minus onions and garlic aioli and with Kombucha on the side. (I know right, no wine? For some reason I wasn’t feeling it and at $3.99 a pop, Kombucha is a treat in itself.)

IMG_1547

The bright red color is from the beets. PS, I hate beets. Not as much as beans and rye bread, but pretty close. So what was the verdict?

Ummmmm, definitely the best garden burger I’ve ever had in my life. And I’m not just saying that because I’m a Yelp follower. Also had an un-pictured brownie that impressed both G and myself. Atmosphere at The Plant Cafe was laid back a-la-carte with super friendly service. I did not feel like I was in a judgy-hippie venue whatsoever. And, it was the.best.garden.buger.of.my.life. Probably because the most stand-out taste in it was lentils. I will be back, hopefully with some new friends!

5 responses to “The Plant Cafe Blogger Dinner

  1. It was great to meet you! Can’t wait to read about your adventure in the City. πŸ™‚

  2. I was kicking myself for not ordering that, it looked amazing!

  3. great meeting you Lauren! Hope you’re enjoying your new place!

Leave a Reply

