5 Easy Ways to Cook Tastier Food

Super simple Friday post today since G and I are moving to our NEW APARTMENT this weekend and I’m not sure how much cooking I’ll be able to do. If anyone has decorating suggestions, we’ll be starting from square one with not one stick of furniture and I guess the apple falls pretty far from the tree, because I have a supreme lack of vision when it comes to these things. View from our new balcony and yeah that’s the GG over there on the far right, no big deal:

View

5 Easy Ways to Make Your Cooking Taste Better

  1. Use fresh garlic. Always. Without exception. Smash the garlic clove with the side of your knife to make it easier to peel the skin off and easier to dice. Tip: You can still use the garlic when it’s got the green shoot, but you need to just cut out the green part since that’s bitter.
  2. Buy a pepper grinder and salt grinder. Please. You can get the throwaway ones for $2.95 from Trader Joe’s or you can spend $15.95 at Crate and Barrel. I find I need to replace the pepper in the grinder pretty often, whereas I’ll never go through all that salt, so I would suggest buying the nice pepper grinder and getting the sea salt one from TJ’s.
  3. Make your own salad dressing. Here’s a confession, I don’t make my own stock. I buy it. Yup. Sometimes I even use those salty baneofcookseverywhere bullion cubes and you know what? I like ’em. But I started making my own salad dressing early on and I will never go back. Even if all you do is drizzle a little olive oil, vinegar, and use your new pepper grinder, you are way ahead of the curve.
  4. Grate the cheese yourself. Buy a cheese grater and some pecorino-romano instead of that horrible pre-grated parmesan that comes in the green shaker and all of your pasta meals will take one giant leap forward in tastiness. You’ll start to realize many more dishes where the taste of cheese makes all the difference.
  5. Use olive oil … and butter. Now I’m what you call obsessed smitten with olive oil, but if something is supposed to be cooked in butter, I follow Julia’s lead and go for it. Eggs for example, I think, need to be cooked in butter to get the right flavor. When I’m cooking stir-fry, I go for vegetable oil since olive oil actually isn’t the best choice for high heat like that. My philosophy is, if you’re generally making an effort to cook healthier, a little extra butter fat ‘aint gonna kill you and it will sure taste better.

Fish Food to Think About

Really bad news for everyone who loves tuna tartar

Whole new economy based on one bad fishie

10 responses to “5 Easy Ways to Cook Tastier Food

  1. You got the apartment–so exciting! I also like today’s sassy cooking tips šŸ™‚ Good luck with the move–wish I was there with you guys to help.

  2. Pingback: Pita Pizzas « Let Them Eat Lentils

  3. Pingback: Ode to My Girls (Beach Time Shrimp) « Let Them Eat Lentils

  4. Pingback: Lazy Girl Penne Puttanesca | Let Them Eat Lentils

  5. My relatives all the time say that I am killing my time here
    at web, but I know I am getting know-how daily by reading such nice articles or reviews.

  6. It’s remarkable to visit this site and reading the views of all colleagues about this article, while I am also zealous of getting knowledge.

  7. Hello just wanted to give you a quick heads up. The words in
    your content seem to be running off the screen in Safari.
    I’m not sure if this is a formatting issue or something to do with internet browser compatibility but I figured I’d post to let you know.
    The layout look great though! Hope you get the problem resolved soon.
    Kudos

  8. Thank you for every other informative web site. Where
    else could I get that type of info written in such an ideal manner?
    I have a undertaking that I am just now working
    on, and I have been on the look out for such info.

  9. We are a gaggle of volunteers and opening a brand new scheme in
    our community. Your site offered us with useful information to work on.
    You have done a formidable activity and our entire neighborhood shall be thankful to you.

Leave a Reply

