Pop! goes the tire, Yanks Win, Butternut Squash Fries

Phew, a lot has happened since my last posting. To recap:

Tues. night I had my first flat tire. It seems amazing to me that I’ve made it approximately 10 years driving and never had a flat tire before, but I guess I’ll just have to knock that one off my neverhaveIever repertoire. This flat tire is especially close to my heart because it was not a result of bad luck, but of bad driving. Took the turn too sharp, slammed into the curb, and the rest is history.

Donut

Didn’t G do an awesome job with the donut? Especially in the dark on the side of the road after working all day with no dinner.

Then, last night, the YANKEES WON THE WORLD SERIES! Not that I’m complaining, but didn’t it seem mildly anticlimactic? I felt like everyone expected them to win, even though they haven’t won in 9 years and the Phillies won last year. I love how Jorge is holding up five fingers instead of one in this picture (possibly to indicate his fifth world series win??)

articleLarge

After the fiasco of the car, I wanted something warm and comforting for dinner. Also, I like making a bunch of appetizer-like things and combining them together for dinner on game days. A typical Baseball Tonight meal generally includes sweet potato fries but I decided to switch it up a little and try out my first butternut squash. ‘Tis the season.

Halved squash

First, I halved the squash lengthwise, then scooped out the seeds/guts. I picked a relatively small squash and I thought this was far easier than cutting the spaghetti squash, but maybe I’m just getting better.

Next, peeled it using a vegetable peeler and cut it into fry-like pieces.

IMG_1516IMG_1517

At this point, I remembered I had an already-peeled carrot in the fridge, so I quickly chopped that up same as the squash and mixed all the pieces together in a bowl. Tossed them with olive oil, sea salt (kosher would be good too), cracked black pepper, and cumin. Arranged them flat on a baking sheet and baked at 375 for approx. 15-20 min, then upped the temp to 400 for the last  10 minutes of cooking to get them a little more crispy. Served alongside ketchup.

IMG_1520

The verdict? oh YUM!  I still really enjoy sweet potato fries, but these were a little sweeter and a nice break from the usual. The carrots were especially tasty in fry form and I’ll definitely be repeating this for lunch since I have a whole half a squash and peeled carrot left in the fridge.

And because this post isn’t long enough, I’m going to include a link to USA Today’s Sassy Sweet Potato Chips, which are another favorite and perfect to munch alongside turkey burgers or salads or guac (like we did last night). Promise my Super Shortcut Guac recipe is coming up soon. Go Yanks!

4 responses to “Pop! goes the tire, Yanks Win, Butternut Squash Fries

  1. I just made butternut squash fries with cumin and they are so good!

  2. Pingback: Tofu Fail « Don't Forget Dessert

  3. Pingback: Tofu Fail Don't Forget Dessert | Don't Forget Dessert

Leave a Reply

