Fighting Back!

Half my office has been laid low by whatever cold/flu-type thing is running rampant these days. I don’t usually get colds anymore, but I was down and out for awhile myself, which got me thinking about the home remedies I turn to when I need to fight back. I won’t lie and say I don’t have a stash of Nyquil and Suddafed packed away for a sick day, but this list is my first resort for a variety of ailments:

When you need to fight a sore throat:

Start by gargling with salt water. Heat up some water, crack in your sea salt or kosher salt, and gargle the heck out of it. Don’t swallow, obvs.

After you’ve thoroughly exfoliated your throat, soften it up with hot water with fresh lemon squeezed in.  Sweeten to taste with agave nectar or honey. It is SO soothing.

Another option you can take back to work with you, Throat Coat, available wherever hippy teas and remedies are sold (Whole Foods, Real Foods).

When you need to fight a hangover:

Who does this? Winners, that’s who. Well if you’re gonna need your sick days for actually being sick, you’re gonna have to suck it up and make it to work somehow.

First, drink a lot of water. It can only help.

Next, take two Vitamin B12, and they will perk you right up. If you were feeling particularly ambitious the night before, it’s good to also take two before you go to sleep. I take Vitamin B12 pretty regularly, but ALWAYS when I’m feeling sleepy or um, less than steller, in the morning. It’s magic.

When you need to fight heartburn:

This is never something I thought I would ever experience, and low and behold, you get older and spicy dinner + red wine can take you by surprise.

First, start with a tablespoon of apple cider vinegar diluted with water. Pretty soon you’ll get so good, you barely need the water. The effect is almost instantaneous. People who have regular heartburn are advised to take a tablespoon a day – I just take it whenever I’m feeling a little unsettled. Megan Fox swears it cleanses her system.

2 responses to “Fighting Back!

  1. These tips are great LC! I’m going to have to try all of them when the occasion arises. Thanks for these!!

    -Christina~

  2. Too true, too true. I love these remedies. I am definitely going to be a ‘winner’ tonight… ;)

Leave a Reply

