Ode to My Girls (Beach Time Shrimp)

I’m really lucky.

Every year I get to go to Florida with all of my best girl friends from college for a weekend of tanning, crazy dancing, and general gluttany.

I know how special this is and how few people get to see their close friends with this kind of regularity. It’s especially valuable time to me since I haven’t lived in the same city as any of them in the over four years since college (mental math, yes I’m getting old).

The literal cherry on top is that all of these girls appreciate great food right along with me and we get the run of a huge kitchen + patio grill to come up with “family” dinners every night. And doesn’t food taste the best after a day in the sun and water, when you’ve washed the sand out of your hair, and you’re all cleaned up, sipping a cocktail in a sundress as the sun goes down? Hint of lime chips certainly do.

This recipe is a favorite summertime staple from our hosts. The recipe uses frozen bags of shrimp so it’s easy to have it ready quickly for a big group (another plus because our group is BIG and hungry). It also cooks in the oven (quickly) so you can save your grill for appetizers (kielbasa) or slabs of fish (I told you our group gets hungry). Finally, I’ve recreated this dish at home and G really liked it so you have proof that this tastes just as good when you’re not at the beach with your girl friends. Well, maybe almost as good.

Ashley Family Garlic Pepper Shrimp

There are no finished pictures because, well, they didn’t last that long. These are peel and eat shrimp so you serve them with the shells still on and with plenty of white, carby bread to soak up the drool-worthy juices.

Ingredients:

Bag of frozen shrimp with the shells/tails still on (defrosted)
Butter
Garlic (canned)
Worcester sauce
Lots of cracked black pepper

Instructions:

Preheat the oven to 375 degrees. Lay your shrimp out on the baking sheet in one layer. Sprinkle the canned garlic generously over the shrimp.

(Note: I know I said never to use canned garlic. Without exception. But unless you’re willing to chop up all of this garlic yourself, I think vacays call for a little relaxation from the rules, don’t you?)

Distribute thick pats of butter over the shrimp as shown in the above picture. Pour worcester sauce generously over the shrimp (this plus the butter and shrimp juices will make the sauce you want to sop up later). Generously coat the shrimp in cracked black pepper.

So far I’ve used the word “generously” three times in these directions. This is purposeful. Be generous. Especially with the pepper.

Bake until shrimp is pink and opaque (about 7-10 minutes).

Serve with side salad, red wine, and best friends.

4 responses to “Ode to My Girls (Beach Time Shrimp)

  1. i love that you ladies do this – i wish i could get my girls together but we’re all kinda flakey…

  2. This sounds like a blast and makes me want to visit my old friends back in Florida!

  3. That is my favorite kind of meal :) Friends, beach, wine, food, what more do you need? :)

  4. sounds wonderful! friend time like that is so sweet. I’m jealous;)

Leave a Reply

