Connelly Salad Dressing

I feel like I’m finally an official blogger as this post is coming at you LIVE from Starbucks AT&T WiFi. 35% remaining battery which will have to be enough since this place is packed and everyone is jealously guarding all the outlets.

SaladThings have been a little wacky with the move but we’re happily settling into our new place. No furniture yet, but we were excited to hook up the HD-TV and watch it from the aero bed. Something about being in a permanent home just feels good no matter what.

Muchos apologies for not posting this weekend, but it couldn’t be helped. To make up for it, I’m going to reveal my go-to salad dressing recipe. Sometimes called “Phil’s Vinaigrette,” and more recently dubbed “Connelly Salad,” this is a quick, standard dressing you can toss with greens, cabbage, carrots, and whatever other raw veggies you’re craving.

You can make as much as you want at a time and it will keep about a week and a half in the fridge. I like to make the dressing on Sunday and bring it to work for the week. This is the most spill-proof container I’ve found and it’s super cheap so you can buy a few. Just remove the straw.

Connelly Salad Dressing

Ingredients:
2 cloves fresh garlic, smashed or diced (I prefer to have actual pieces of garlic in my salad, but if you don’t, just smash the garlic, remove the skin, and throw it in the container to flavor the dressing)
1 part red wine vinegar
2 parts cold pressed extra virgin olive oil
Cracked black pepper
Sea Salt

Instructions:
Put your garlic and vinegar in the container. Pour in the olive oil so that it’s 2/3 oil and 1/3 vinegar – the oil and vinegar don’t mix so this is how you can adjust the recipe to make as much as you want. Add salt and pepper to taste. Shake before pouring over your favorite salad.

Super excited for tonight! I’m meeting up with my blogger hero, and other locals for dinner at The Plant Cafe. Recap post coming tomorrow with a review and plenty of food pictures.

8 responses to “Connelly Salad Dressing

  1. i always feel so “official” when i blog from someplace that’s not my home.

  2. Haha, when your battery’s dying out and you’re trying to finish up your post – you know you’re a blogger for sure :p

    The salad looks very good. I might take on your vinaigrette recipe… I’ve been a bit puzzled lately when it comes to dressing up my salads :S

  3. You grew up on that salad dressing, girl!
    No store bought stuff in this house! My friends always give me a hard time about that.
    Suggestion: Lately I’ve been substituting the red wine vinegrette with Trader Joe’s Orange Muscat Champagne Vinegar, and it is delicious!
    Try it!

  4. Pingback: Aaaccentuate the Positive « Let Them Eat Lentils

  5. Pingback: Pre-Thanksgiving Italian Feast « Let Them Eat Lentils

Leave a Reply

